Peak’s Image Management is located in Factory and provides an interface for the deployment, tracking and management of Docker images.

This article will introduce you to Docker and Image Management and help you to understand how they can be used.


Contents


What is Docker?

Docker is a technology that enables you to quickly and easily package your code for deployment. 

It lets you define the exact environment you want your code to run in (for example, operating system and software package versions) to help ensure your code remains stable in production. This packaged code is referred to as an 'Image'.


For more information on Docker, see Docker Documentation.


What are Images?

An image is a read-only template with instructions for creating a Docker container.

They are packages of software containing all of the necessary dependencies and libraries that will make it possible to package applications and run them in any environment.

Images can be built either from a single Dockerfile using the Image Management editor, or by pulling in code from a code repository. In addition, Peak has a range of Global Images that can each be put to use for different purposes.

Images are used extensively within Peak to run all of the following:

  • Workflows

  • Workspaces

  • Web Apps

  • APIs


Why is Image Management useful?

Image Management provides a single place to access all of the images that are available to your Peak organization. It also enables you to deploy new images or edit and delete existing images, as well as see which applications are dependent on particular images.

The Image Management interface shows information about each image including Image Status, Image Build Status and Image Size:



What can you do in Image Management?

  • Create new Images
    New Images can be created either via the platform or by pulling code from a code repository

  • Edit existing Images
    Runtime variables can be updated or introduced (will require users to rebuild image)

  • Delete existing Images
    If an Image is no longer needed, users can delete it.